GamesBeat

Sony planning PlayStation Network maintenance for tomorrow

Above: The PlayStation Store on Sony's PSN is one of several things you won't be able to access during upcoming maintenance.

Image Credit: Sony Computer Entertainment

Don’t schedule any PlayStation Network purchases for tomorrow morning through the early evening. Sony is planning some regular maintenance to its online network that will temporarily bring down a few of its services.

Sony warns that it will deactivate PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, and PSN’s account management during the maintenance. Players will still have access to online play and apps like Netflix as long as they log into PSN between now and before Sony begins services its online infrastructure.

Sony plans to start work on PSN beginning at 9:30 a.m. Pacific. That’s 10:30 a.m. Mountain, 11:30 a.m. Central, and 12:30 p.m. Eastern. The maintenance will last until 4 p.m. Pacific, which is 5 p.m. Mountain, 6 p.m. Central, and 7 p.m. Eastern.

This timing would normally interfere with the weekly PlayStation Store update that sees the release of several new games to the network, but Sony says it will make the store update late tonight. That means PSN customers can pick up any new games tonight befofre the maintenance and play them without issues during the affected hours.


Don't let cyber attacks kill your game! Join GamesBeat's Dean Takahashi for a free webinar on April 18 that will explore the DDoS risks facing the game industry. Sign up here.
blog comments powered by Disqus

GamesBeat is your source for gaming news and reviews. But it's also home to the best articles from gamers, developers, and other folks outside of the traditional press. Register or log in to join our community of writers. You can even make a few bucks publishing stories here! Learn more.

You are now an esteemed member of the GamesBeat community. That means you can comment on stories or post your own to GB Unfiltered (look for the "New Post" link by mousing over your name in the red bar up top). But first, why don't you fill out your via your ?

About GamesBeat