GamesBeat

Budding Wall Street tycoons can win real money in monthly virtual stock portfolio challenge

Kapitall Market Masters Tournament

Above: A screenshot of the Kapitall's Market Masters Tournament in action.

Image Credit: Kapitall

Think you’ve got what it takes to create a killer stock portfolio? If so, you could win $100,000.

Investment platform Kapitall announced today it’s launching a monthly challenge called the Market Masters Tournament. During these competitions, players build stock portfolios using virtual currency. Each month, the top three competitors win cash prizes and Kapitall “Koins” redeemable in the company’s virtual store. The first-place winner moves on to the monthly “Grand Prix,” where they can compete for a $100,000 cash prize.

“The Market Masters Monthly Tournament is the next step in Kapitall’s mission to offer a one-of-a-kind user experience to engage the next generation of young and creative investors,” says Jarrett Lilien, the chairman and CEO of Kapitall. “We are excited to see how the monthly competition unfolds as it introduces a new generation of investors to the world of finance and investing.”

Founded in 2008 by video game entrepreneur Gaspard de Dreuzy and financial technologist Serge Kreiker, Kapitall delivers a full range of learning games and products for young would-be investors, including brokerage, practice portfolios, and investment clubs.

Those interested in competing in the Market Masters Tournament can sign up for free at Kapitall.com. It begins on the first day of each month when the stock market opens at 9:30 a.m. Eastern (6:30 a.m. Pacific) and concludes on the last day of the month at 4 p.m. Eastern (1 p.m. Pacific).


Mobile developer or publisher? VentureBeat is studying mobile marketing automation. Fill out our 5-minute survey, and we'll share the data with you.