Belgium’s wait for the Xbox One is nearly over  — thankfully, they have delicious beer to help them cope in the meantime.

That European country isn’t the only one getting the console in the next few months. Microsoft revealed this morning that it will expand the release of Xbox One to 26 additional countries. The company plans to hit those nations in September, and it will have more detailed information for each local market later in April. This will bring Xbox One’s nation total to nearly 40. For comparison, PlayStation 4 is nearly 50 markets since it hit Japan on Feb. 22.

Here’s the full list of upcoming launch regions:

• Argentina
• Belgium
• Chile
• Colombia
• Czech Republic
• Denmark
• Finland
• Greece
• Hungary
• India
• Israel
• Japan
• Korea
• Netherlands
• Norway
• Poland
• Portugal
• Russia
• Saudi Arabia
• Singapore
• Slovakia
• South Africa
• Sweden
• Switzerland
• Turkey
• United Arab Emirates

The above 26 countries join the 13 launch nations that the Xbox One hit when it debuted in November. Those include Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, and New Zealand.

The Xbox One relies on speech recognition for navigating menus through the Kinect motion-sensing camera, and Microsoft continues to work to ensure that those kinds of features are ready to work with the various different languages spoken in the 26 new markets.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]