Join gaming leaders online at GamesBeat Summit Next this upcoming November 9-10. Learn more about what comes next. 

Hello, beasties.

Publisher Warner Bros. Interactive has detailed the first downloadable content coming to Season Pass holders for Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor, the open-world action game inspired by the famous fantasy setting. Titled Lord of the Hunt, the new content will include new story missions, nemeses (Beastmaster Warchiefs, who can ride on monsters), missions, challenges, and more. The DLC is coming later this year to all of the game’s platforms (Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC, with Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 versions coming on Nov. 18).

The new beasts include the Wretched Graug (pictured above), which can hurt people by vomiting on them. Fun!  You’ll also find Caragaths, and you can now summon a Ghoul army.

Players without the Season Pass can also download Lord of the Hunt separately. This paid DLC comes out after a few free updates to the game, including one that added a Photo Mode.


Three top investment pros open up about what it takes to get your video game funded.

Watch On Demand

Licensed games used to have a bad reputation, but titles like Shadow of Mordor, which we liked quite a bit, are helping to turn that tradition around. DLC like Lord of the Hunt gives publishers a way to make money off of a popular game after its initial release.


GamesBeat's creed when covering the game industry is "where passion meets business." What does this mean? We want to tell you how the news matters to you -- not just as a decision-maker at a game studio, but also as a fan of games. Whether you read our articles, listen to our podcasts, or watch our videos, GamesBeat will help you learn about the industry and enjoy engaging with it. How will you do that? Membership includes access to:
  • Newsletters, such as DeanBeat
  • The wonderful, educational, and fun speakers at our events
  • Networking opportunities
  • Special members-only interviews, chats, and "open office" events with GamesBeat staff
  • Chatting with community members, GamesBeat staff, and other guests in our Discord
  • And maybe even a fun prize or two
  • Introductions to like-minded parties
Become a member