Join gaming leaders, alongside GamesBeat and Facebook Gaming, for their 2nd Annual GamesBeat & Facebook Gaming Summit | GamesBeat: Into the Metaverse 2 this upcoming January 25-27, 2022. Learn more about the event. 

Nintendo finally seems to understand that people want to buy a lot of new content for its games.

The Japanese company made two stages available for download today for its crossover fighting game, Super Smash Bros. The Wii U versions gets Pirate Ship, a level based on The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. This stage originally debuted on Super Smash Bros. Brawl for the Wii. Both the Wii U and 3DS versions get a level based on Super Mario Maker, the recently released (and well-selling) level-designing game. This downloadable content comes almost a year after this newest version of Smash Bros. launched, showing that Nintendo isn’t slowing down with releasing new goodies.

Pirate Ship costs $2, while Super Mario Maker is $2.50 for Wii U or 3DS. However, you can pay $3.50 for both versions.

A new update released today for Super Smash Bros. also brings balance changes to the roster. Nintendo never releases patch notes itself, but the community is already putting together its own list of changes.


GamesBeat's creed when covering the game industry is "where passion meets business." What does this mean? We want to tell you how the news matters to you -- not just as a decision-maker at a game studio, but also as a fan of games. Whether you read our articles, listen to our podcasts, or watch our videos, GamesBeat will help you learn about the industry and enjoy engaging with it. How will you do that? Membership includes access to:
  • Newsletters, such as DeanBeat
  • The wonderful, educational, and fun speakers at our events
  • Networking opportunities
  • Special members-only interviews, chats, and "open office" events with GamesBeat staff
  • Chatting with community members, GamesBeat staff, and other guests in our Discord
  • And maybe even a fun prize or two
  • Introductions to like-minded parties
Become a member