A new GamesBeat event is around the corner! Learn more about what comes next. 

Electronic Arts and Respawn Entertainment took the stage for EA Play 2019 today to talk about the future of Apex Legends. As part of this event, which leads into E3 (Electronic Entertainment Expo) in Los Angeles, the studio revealed that it’s planning to launch a ranked mode.

“You will progress through six tiers, if you’re good enough,” Apex Legends director Drew McCoy said during a stage presentation. “It goes from Bronze all the way up to Apex Predator. And it’s using special matchmaking tiers.”

McCoy notes that the higher tiers may have longer matchmaking times. The studio wants to try to match you with equivalent players in Ranked so it can keep challenging you. In the end, however, you will earn rewards based on your rank.

This mode exists separately from the standard match type. So if you just want to continue hopping into casual games with friends, that option remains open to you.


Three top investment pros open up about what it takes to get your video game funded.

Ranked mode is launching as part of Season Two. That also includes a new character, rewards, and more. This next big content drop is coming July 2.


GamesBeat's creed when covering the game industry is "where passion meets business." What does this mean? We want to tell you how the news matters to you -- not just as a decision-maker at a game studio, but also as a fan of games. Whether you read our articles, listen to our podcasts, or watch our videos, GamesBeat will help you learn about the industry and enjoy engaging with it. How will you do that? Membership includes access to:
  • Newsletters, such as DeanBeat
  • The wonderful, educational, and fun speakers at our events
  • Networking opportunities
  • Special members-only interviews, chats, and "open office" events with GamesBeat staff
  • Chatting with community members, GamesBeat staff, and other guests in our Discord
  • And maybe even a fun prize or two
  • Introductions to like-minded parties
Become a member