Facebook’s Friendship Pages were one of the last areas of the social network to look like the old profile view, but no longer. The pages got the Timeline makeover today, with new options for curating (yes, curating) your relationship.
Friendship Pages are under the utility icon (the little gear) on the upper right hand corner of your friend’s Facebook profile page. Originally, it took you to a page that looked like the old profile pages with a shared photo in the upper left and options for viewing your shared photos, wall posts, and events underneath. Now it looks just like a Timeline, with a big cover photo at the top and all of your content beneath.
It sadly gets rid of filtering and viewing options for particular parts of your Facebook relationship, such as what events you go to, but you’ll still be able to view them by month and year in your Timeline stream. That is, if you can remember when it happened. It has a photos section, too.
The cool thing about the Timeline view, however, is that you’ll be able to remove different areas of your relationship. That picture your best friend tagged of you both doing the Halloween walk of shame? Go ahead and take that memory off your friendship Timeline by clicking on the pen icon in the upper right hand corner and selecting “hide from Timeline.” Of course, you should realize that the picture isn’t actually deleted off of Facebook, and you won’t be detagged. In order to do that, you need to find the picture itself and perform those action.
Relationship pages are also getting the Timeline treatment. You’ll also be able to access the pages via a new URL: facebook.com/us.
If you don’t see the new version of Friendship Pages, don’t freak out. As per usual, Facebook is slowly rolling out the pages to everyone.