Mobile

Flickr for iPhone now lets you download photos, mention friends, & upload pics faster

Yahoo has updated its Flickr app for iPhone with several new features to improve the experience, including downloading Flickr photos to your phone, faster picture uploads, and being able to mention your friends with an “@” tag.

Flickr has struggled over the years to stay relevant, and the rise of Instagram hurt whatever chance it had of being the dominant mobile photo-sharing app. But Yahoo CEO Marissa Mayer clearly likes Flickr and has made sure the app has gotten some attention. On the mobile front, Mayer said she wants to eliminate up to 80 percent of Yahoo’s mobile apps, but Flickr clearly isn’t one of them.

Yahoo added Instagram-like filters to Flickr for iPhone in December and now we’ve got more updates today. This indicates Mayer clearly wants Yahoo to be recognized as a product company again.

The new update includes the following additions:

  • Download photos from Flickr straight to your camera roll.
  • Mention and tag friends in a photo or post by using an @ sign.
  • Photo uploads have been optimized to work faster.
  • Flickr photos are saved immediately to your iPhone camera roll.
  • Higher-resolution photos are displayed in lightbox so you can zoom in more.
  • You can take photos using the iPhone’s volume up button.

Read the Yahoo’s blog post on the update below:

Take the conversations to another level!

You can now mention your friends right from the app. Start by typing in the @ sign, and then simply select one of your Flickr contacts to mention them in a title, description or comment. We will notify your friends that you mentioned them.

Download your photos!

You can now download your own photos from Flickr to your camera roll. Just tap the share icon on any of your photos and tap “Save Photo”. A few seconds later the photo will be in your iPhone’s camera roll in the largest available resolution.

Faster than light (nearly)!

Uploads from the Flickr app are much faster. We did some magic to optimize uploads, but also start uploading in the background while you think about the photo’s title or where you want to share it to. You basically get the best of both worlds: High resolution uploads that will make sure that you can enjoy your photos in great quality in the future, plus fast uploads in the background, so that you don’t have to wait.

And there is more: Photos that you take with the Flickr camera are now immediately saved to your camera roll. We also now display an even higher resolution image in the lightbox view, so you can zoom in further and see all of the details. Lastly you can now take photos in a snap by using your iPhone’s volume up button.

Take a look at the new mentions function in the photo below:

flickr-iphone

iPhone photographer photo via Flickr


Mobile developer or publisher? VentureBeat is studying mobile app analytics. Fill out our 5-minute survey, and we'll share the data with you.
0 comments