Facebook beefs up your personal security using your best friends

Facebook security

Trusted Contacts is Facebook’s newest global feature. It helps you to get your account back if it’s been hacked or compromised in any way — or if you just forgot your password.

The network has been testing out Trusted Contacts for around a year and a half to make sure it’s a safe, secure way to get you back into your account without letting in undesirables on accident.

“Think of it like giving your house key to a friend when you go on vacation,” said a Facebook rep via email.

“Pick the friends you trust the most. Facebook will send codes to the friends you selected and they can pass along that information you need to access your account.”

So, when you lose your password, you can reach out to three to five of your best friends or closest relatives instead of wading through a long form and back-and-forth email verification song and dance. But you have to get the special account-access codes from at least three of your Trusted Contacts before you can get back into your account. Think of it as your own personal Nick Cage movie!

“So your trusted contacts can be sure it’s you trying to access your account, it’s best to talk to them over the phone or in person,” writes a Facebooker today on the comapny’s security blog.

“Someone else can impersonate you through email, chat, or text messages, or hack and read your messages.”

Here’s a sneak peek:

To set up Trusted Contacts, go to your security settings, enter your password, and designate your besties. Make sure these people are folks you can get in touch with outside of Facebook and who can respond quickly.


VentureBeat is studying mobile marketing automation. Chime in, and we’ll share the data.