Cloud file syncing and sharing service Dropbox today said it’s rolling out a new feature, starting with its Dropbox Enterprise service tier, that should stop some unintended problems from cropping up.
The service essentially stops users from dragging a shared folder onto their local desktop, an action that ordinarily stops everyone else from accessing the folder.
“Now of course this folder could be restored, but don’t you wish there was a better way so this could have been prevented from even happening?” Dropbox software engineer Damien DeVille wrote in a blog post.
A new pop-up dialog politely informs users that they can’t actually move a folder out of a team folder.
Dropbox competes with Box, Google Drive, and Microsoft OneDrive, among others.